Unless you’re an expert paper pusher, the process of changing your name across all various credit and utility accounts can take some time! I received my Change of Name Certificate back in July, but I’m still working on finalizing all my account changes. I admit that I’ve been dragging my heels: the post-it on my desk listing the various places I need to update is quite dog-eared!

I recently updated my phone account with Telus and they were the easiest of the bunch, requiring NO documentation whatsoever!

Last week I got my mortgage and land title updated through my lawyer. My property insurance was updated automatically via this process as well.

I’m in the process of getting a new life insurance policy and rather than changing my name on my old policy, I’m just applying for the new one under my new name.

Updating the Business Contact Name with PayPal was a bit of a hassle. You can either upload or fax support documentation to them. Their fax number doesn’t work.  (They’re working on the issue.) Uploading seemed easy enough, but it’s not user-friendly. I tried a few times, then gave it a couple of days. I first received an email saying they didn’t have enough documentation to make the change, then the next day got an email saying the change was complete.

Right now, I’m faxing my Change of Name Certificate, both front and back of my Driver’s License, a piece of paper with old and new signatures, and a cover letter with account numbers and details of the request to:

  • HSBC
  • Staples
  • Home Depot
  • Petro-Canada
  • BC Hydro

I had to call each of these to get the details of their requirements and fax number. In each case, they quickly switched to “Mr” after I mentioned name AND gender change. I’m impressed.

One more big one to go: Social Insurance Number. I’ll leave that for another day soon… Oh, then the really big one: Birth Certificate. I’m waiting until post-hysto to make that application, then I can get the gender marker updated at the same time as the name change, then apply for a new passport.

