Quick workout update

I just wanted to quickly post a workout update for my own archival purposes.

I’m doing a daily workout regimen in the mornings, usually 7 days a week though I try and give myself a day off every week or two. I know that days off are important to rest your muscles but my mood and energy levels take a hit when I skip a day.

Morning Workout

  • Yamuna Body Rolling (really helps with my back)
  • 2 sets of 200 stomach crunches, some twists incorporated
  • 3 sets of 50 push-ups, along with a few Cirque de Soleil push-ups
  • 3 sets of incline chest presses, 20 lbs, 20 reps
  • 3 sets of bent over rows, 20 lbs, 20 reps
  • 3 sets of shoulder shrugs, 20 lbs, 20 reps
  • 3 sets of bicep curls, 20 lbs, 20 reps
  • 3 sets of shoulder presses, 20 lbs, 20 reps

The big differences are that I’m using 20 lbs for all exercises now (up from 15 lbs) and I’ve upped the reps to 20 since 15 was getting too easy. I really need some 25 lbs weights though since that would increase muscle bulk. Also, I seem to have completely forgotten about doing chest flies and reverse flies! I’ll have to work those back in.

I’m still doing a daily hike with the dog as well, 5 km. I haven’t been strapping weights to my legs since it’s shorts weather (and don’t want to look like a total fitness geek!) but I’ll bring those back when pants make their return.

Pre-op, I was also doing a nightly workout but I’ve dropped that, mostly because I don’t have enough time in a day. As it is, I dedicate 2-3 hrs a day to working out and I think that’s sufficient.

My weight is at about 130 lbs, which is 12-17 lbs heavier than pre-op. It’s a bit freaky to keep seeing my weight go up but it all seems to be muscle weight.

Overall, I’m pleased with my workouts and the effects that they are having on my body, especially with testosterone flowing through me. I’m a little bulkier than pre-T, and my waist has shrunk, but my body isn’t too different. I would like to bulk up more, so it’s a priority to get some heavier weights.

About this entry