Sometimes the system DOES work! I submitted the papers for my legal change of name on June 27 and received the official certificate in the mail this past Tuesday, just over two weeks later. I’m totally impressed with the speed with which this was processed!

I’m working on a spreadsheet listing all the places where I will need to update my name. This includes:

  • driver’s license
  • health care card
  • credit cards
  • banks
  • phone company
  • hydro company
  • social insurance number
  • mortgage
  • insurance
  • PayPal, Amazon and other online services where I use my CCs
  • credit bureaus

…and last but certainly not least, I will need to petition the province of Quebec for a new birth certificate that states only my new name. As Jacky pointed out, I’ll need support letters from my psychologist and doctor, as well as documentation showing that I am using my new name publicly. And pay a $125 fee (plus other hidden fees, I’m sure.)

The adventure continues!

