Pownce scores on gender options

How many of you are using Pownce?

I can barely keep up with all my social networking profiles these days. Between Twitter, Facebook, YouTube, del.icio.us, LastFM, Digg, Flickr, FriendFeed, and more, I’m definitely experiencing Web 2.0 Fatigue, but what’s one more profile added to the mix? (I admit it, I actually signed up for several Pownce accounts, a habit of mine when signing up with online services to reserve a handful of preferred usernames.)

I first learned about Pownce in January 2008 when I attended a talk by one of its founders, Daniel Burka. What is Pownce? In their own words:

Pownce is a way to send stuff to your friends. What kind of stuff? You can send just about anything: music, photos, messages, links, events, and more. You can do it all on our web site, or install our lightweight desktop software that lets you get out of the browser.

Basically, it’s like Twitter on testosterone!

Anyway, during the sign-up process I was thrilled to see that Pownce gives you a multitude of options for selecting your gender:

I previously praised Flickr for doing something similar, but Pownce has definitely raised the bar here!

I’m not sure how much use my account will get quite yet, but if you’re using Pownce add me as a friend.

About this entry