Talking trans with a toddler, part 3

My nephew left last week, but we had the chance to get some closure on our discussions about my transition (I can barely believe that I had these talks with a kid who isn’t even three yet!) I asked him again if he thought I was a boy or a girl, and he finally answered hesitantly, “A girl?” I said “Well, what you would you think if I was a girl turning into a boy?” His answer? “That’s cool.”

During another chat, he asked me if I was a “daddy”, which I thought was interesting.

As for his question about “auntie” and what to call me, together we settled on “Monkey Uncle.” [lots of giggles]

During the last two days of his visit, he got quite attached to me and was way more touchy-feely, where he’d been more touch-shy at the beginning of his stay. He freely kissed me and told me he loved me. No transphobia in this boy! This makes me one lucky Monkey Uncle.

About this entry