First shot of testosterone!

I DID get my first shot of T yesterday! April 2, 2008

I visited with my family doctor in the morning. I brought her a small gift of thanks for her recent help and support: a Gala apple tree and a dreamcatcher/windcatcher that my GF made. Then we reviewed the recent blood test results and report from the endocrinologist. My free testosterone level is within range for a female, but low at 2.8. (Compare to Jason’s 65!) My hemoglobin is a little low (117) but considering that T will raise that, it’s probably ideal. My hematocrit was on the low side but within range (0.35).

She asked when I wanted to start. My response: TODAY! So, she gave me a prescription for a 10ml vial of Depo-Testosterone (cypionate) in oil (100 mg per ml):

Prescription for Depo-Testosterone
Ticket to Ride

Off to buy testosterone!I immediately left for town to pick up the goods at the Wal-Mart pharmacy (cost: $28.01 + $7.98 fee = $35.99). I also bought my nephew a HotWheels car, more specifically, a TransAm (ha!) I made it back to the office in just over 2 hours–one of my fastest town trips ever! I would like to learn how to do this myself, but for now I’ll get the shots–50mg to start–at the office.

I didn’t really feel anything with the injection, just a very small pin prick. Immediately however, I felt something different coursing through my system, like an adrenaline rush after I get stung by a wasp. I also noticed a different taste in my mouth within a few minutes.

I went for a my daily hike to the beach with my dog afterwards and noted I felt a distinct sense of calm. For many months now, my daily walk has been the theatre for my T thoughts–the hike has provided the time and focus to contemplate testosterone and what it would/will mean to me. On this day though, I was free from all of that. What I had been thinking about for months had come to fruition. Now the real adventure starts!

T-TreeThat evening, I hiked out to a quiet place on my land with my dog and cat, and we planted a Mac/Spartan apple tree to commemorate the day (my GF calls this my T-Tree.) I have some work to do to clear some brush from this area and tidy it up a bit, but this is where I would like to go on my land to play my shakuhachi flute.

UPDATE, 04/06/08: A detail that I left out but want to track for my own interest is the first music I heard on this day. My GF gets up quite early, usually around 4 or 5am, then wakes me an hour later or so. Generally, we have meditation music on as we quietly begin our day. On this T-Day however, I awoke to the glorious sounds of KISS, one of my favorite tracks too, Strutter. Sa-weet! It definitely set the tone!!

About this entry