I have never felt like a butch lesbian

To Honey and M: I have never felt like a butch lesbian, so why would I want to be one? I know it’s difficult to step outside one’s experience and accept others for who they are, and because I ask this of others just by being me, I work hard to be non-judgmental at the same time. I respect the choice of gender expression that butch women have made, but I have never thought of myself as butch, and I never felt comfortable calling myself a lesbian. I don’t see myself as bailing out of the fight for acceptance of butchness and female power because it’s not my fight. I’ve got my hands full with being a transman. However, I see ourselves as tackling oppression and judgment side by side, and I’m proud to call you my comrades.

About this entry