Swan medicine: grace and intuition

One of the things that I love about living in a rural community is the wildlife. I have a strong affinity for Native American Animal Medicine, and I look to the skies and the forest for messages from animal guides.

Yesterday, while taking my daily walk to the beach with my dog and thinking (as always) about testosterone, I came across twelve white swans gently gliding across the marsh. So silent and beautiful!

When I came home, I instantly cracked open the Medicine Cards book and looked up swan. The keyword for swan is grace. From the book:

[Swan] ushers in a time of altered states of awareness and development of your intuitive abilities. Swan people have the ability to… accept the healing and transformation of their lives. The Swan card is telling you to accept your ability to know what lies ahead. If you are resisting your self-transformation, relax; it will be easier if you go with the flow… Pay attention to your hunches and your gut knowledge, and honor your female intuition.

This really spoke to me! I like that it mentions female intuition. I see myself as a transman, incorporating both female and male aspects. I have no intention of denying my female abilities (reproduction aside), yet I’m more and more certain that I need to augment my masculine side through hormone therapy to be complete.

About this entry