I saw my family doctor on Wednesday of this week to ask her some questions about testosterone therapy:

Where does testosterone come from? Is it synthetic?

Yes, testosterone is synthetic and made in a lab. I’ve read about “all-natural”, “bio-identical” testosterone, but I guess it’s not quite the same thing.

Who are the primary manufacturers?
In Canada, Testosterone cypionate and testosterone enanthate are produced by Pfizer and Sandoz (cypionate) and Valient (enanthate). (Albert Hofmann worked for Sandoz when he discovered LSD in 1938. I feel a little better about the prospect of sending money their way knowing that they funded that research!)

Can I obtain testosterone locally without problems?

Yes, your local Wal-Mart will probably have the best pricing. In the USA, try using GoodRx to find the lowest price near you.

How often would I inject, once a month, or twice a month?

Hard to say at this point. My doctor hasn’t treated a FTM transgender patient before. For this reason, she is looking to refer me to an endocrinologist who practices about three hours away from where I live. This doctor has experience with FTMs and could do my initial physical assessment and design my Testosterone treatment, then my local doctor can oversee that course of treatment.

Can I do my own shots?

My doctor currently administers shots for men who are taking testosterone, but said that she could show me how to do it myself so I wouldn’t have to go to the office for my shots. I have the option of injecting in my buttocks or thigh muscle. The buttocks is not easy to do yourself, but the thigh could be an option if I want to tackle this solo.

Also see: Common T Injection Site No Longer Recommended

How often would I need to have blood work done?

Every few months, and that can be done with my doctor.

Can I get cholesterol testing?

I have a lot of heart problems in my family history, so I’m concerned about increased cholesterol with taking testosterone. Despite being almost 20 years younger than the average person getting cholesterol testing, my doctor thought it would be a good idea to see where my levels are at now, as a metric to compare against should I go forward with T. I had blood work done yesterday.

