Using DHT for FTM genital growth

dht-me

All About DHT for Transgender Men

Lost in all the hubbub about my hysterectomy and resulting VVF complication, is the fact that I finally obtained DHT cream and started using it on April 29th.

I have a three-month supply of 10% DHT compounded into a non-alcoholic cream.

The total cost for this was $630… but, British Columbia PharmaCare ended up covering $468.18 of this, leaving me with an expense of $178.80.

My dosage is 20mg topically applied three times a day. My pharmacist wisely packaged the cream in syringes which makes dosing really easy: at 20mg / 0.2ml, one line = 0.2ml = 20mg.

My blood work requisition that was originally ordered by my endocrinologist over a year ago recently expired. Since I have just had a hysterectomy and expect my hormones to jump around a bit, I asked my GP to write up another requisition for a year’s worth of monthly blood work. My free testosterone on April 22 was high, at 117.6 pmol/L (25-89 is normal range.) Considering this, and the fact that that I am now adding DHT to the mix (which can raise testosterone levels slightly) I have dropped my dosage of injectable T to 150mg / 2 weeks (down from 200mg) as of my last shot on April 29.

dht

I’ve written about DHT here before, including information about what DHT is, how to legally get DHT, and about DHT being a controlled substance. I also recently put together a video for my YouTube channel all about DHT:

While DHT is responsible for beard growth, paradoxically, one of its potential side effects is hair loss. DHT leaves a waxy substance at the root of hair follicles on the scalp that can inhibit hair growth. Saw palmetto berry extract is a natural product that’s found in many DHT blocking preparations. While taking a DHT blocker internally would counteract the effects that I’m aiming for, could saw palmetto be topically applied directly to the scalp to help block DHT at that specific level?

dht-sawpalmettoHairGenesis has a line of hair products with saw palmetto as a primary ingredient. They claim clinical studies have shown effectiveness at combating hair loss. I spoke with my pharmacist about saw palmetto berry extract and blocking DHT topically, and he thought it was worth trying. Initially, I’d purchased saw palmetto berries to make a strong tea from that I could add to one of my thick conditioners. However my pharmacist thought I’d get more benefit from a tincture. Today I started using saw palmetto berry extract tincture: 9 drops diluted in 1/2 cup of water, massaged into my scalp. I’ll use this daily throughout my 3-month trial of DHT. (UPDATE: 9 drops was not enough. I wound up using 30-60 drops daily.)

I don’t plan on using DHT longer than 3-months. I’ve taken photos and measurements of myself pre-DHT and will repeat this monthly. Whether positive or negative, I’ll report my findings here. Every body responds differently to hormones, but with more anecdotal information, we’ll start to get a better idea about if DHT cream is something that’s worthwhile for trans men to use to encourage genital growth.

Have you used DHT cream? Please leave a comment and let me know how it worked for you!

FTM Surgery Support Forums

About this entry